Dr Paul logo
children's health & wellness
Accueil
Rencontrez Dr. Paul
Archive des questions
posées au Dr. Paul
Fiches de renseignement
Informations sur
les nouveaux-nés
Allaitement maternel
Maladies et conditions
infantiles
Immunisation
Croissance et
et développement
Nutrition
Prévention des blessures
Problèmes de
comportement
Section sur l'asthme
Santé et bien-être
des adolescents
Quoi de neuf?
Conférences
Liens
Commentaires et
comment rejoindre
Légal



Maladies et conditions infantiles
: La fièvre chez les enfants


Qu'est-ce qui cause la fièvre?

La fièvre est un symptôme et non pas un diagnostic ou une condition médicale. L'infection, souvent viral et parfois bactérienne, est la cause principale de la fièvre chez les enfants. Il est difficile d'évaluer la cause de la fièvre chez un enfant ou même de déterminer si elle est causée par une infection bactérienne. Il est important de faire la différence entre les deux car on a besoin d'un traitement d'antibiotiques pour une infection bactérienne mais pas pour une infection virale. Plus rarement, il y a des cas de fièvres qui ne sont pas causés par des infections, mais dans ces cas-là, la fièvre persiste pendant une longue période de temps (des semaines ou même des mois) plutôt qu'une période plus courte qui coïncide avec une infection.

La fièvre est une partie du problème

In general, the younger the child, the sicker looking the child and/or the longer the fever persists, the higher the chance of a bacterial infection. Also as important as the degree of fever is how a febrile child generally looks. A sick looking child with a low fever may be more ill than a very well, active child with a higher fever.

Mesurer la température d'un enfant

Il y a trois façons de prendre la température d'un enfant :

  • Rectale :
    ceci est la mesure la plus exacte et est recommandée pour les enfants de moins de 5 ans
  • Orale (par la bouche) :
    recommandée pour les enfants de plus de 5 ans
  • Axillaire (aisselles) :
    c'est la façon la plus inexacte de mesurer la température d'un enfant

    Quelle est la température normale du corps?

    La température normale du corps se situe d'habitude à 37,0C° (98,6°F) si on la prend au rectum. Toutefois, il y a des intervalles de température jugés comme normaux dépendant de la façon qu'on la mesure :

    La température normale lorsque mesuré au rectum est : 36.6º - 38º (C), ou 97.9º - 100.4º (F)

    La température normale lorsque mesuré oralement (dans la bouche) : 35.5º - 37.5º (C), ou 95.9º - 99.5º (F)

    La température normale lorsque mesuré à l'axillaire (aisselles) : 34.7º - 37.3º (C), ou 94.5º - 99.1º (F)


    À partir de quelle température parle-t-on de fièvre?

    On considère qu'un enfant fait de la fièvre si :

    La température au rectum est
    plus grande que 38°C ou 100,4°F ,ou

    La température orale est
    plus grande que 38°C ou 100,4°F , ou

    La température orale est
    plus grande que 37,2°C ou 99°C

    À propos des médicaments pour la fièvre :

    Aujourd'hui, on utilise deux médicaments anti-pyretique ou anti-fièvre :
    1. L'acétaminophéne (Tylenol, Tempra ou Panadol) est un médicaments qui a une réputation longue et favorable et qui est considérée comme appropriée pour traiter la fièvre et/ou la douleur chez les enfants. L'acétaminophéne, disponible en goutte, en liquide ou en comprimés, est prise toutes les quatre à six heures, au besoin. L'acétaminophéne est aussi disponible sous la forme de suppositoire et peut être très utile si un enfant doit en prendre mais qu'il vomit à cause, par exemple, d'une gastro-entérite. Même si l'acétaminophéne est sécuritaire lorsque prise comme recommandée, elle peut être dangereuse si elle est prise régulièrement pendant plus d'une semaine. Une surdose d'acétaminophéne peut causer des dommages au foie. Il est donc important de respecter le dosage en accord avec l'âge ou le poids de l'enfant et de ne pas lui en donner pour plus de 4 ou 5 jours.

    2. L'ibuproféne (Motrin ou Advil)) est un nouveau médicament qui n'existe pas depuis aussi longtemps que l'acétaminophéne. La plupart des experts s'entendent pour dire que l'ibuproféne est un médicament sécuritaire et efficace, mais recommande quand même l'acétaminophéne comme premier médicament à prescrire en cas de fièvre vu ses bons antécédents.
    Voici des règles générales lorsque vous utilisez des médicaments pour la fièvre pour les enfants :

  • On ne devrait jamais donner d'aspirine (acide acétylsalicylique) à un enfant.
  • Une surdose après l'ingestion de ces médicaments pour la fièvre peut être grave. Ces médicaments, comme tous les autres, devraient entreposer dans un endroit hors de la portée des enfants.
  • L'acétaminophéne et l'ibuproféne sont disponibles dans des préparations qui les combinent à des décongestionnants ou des antitussifs. Ces combinaisons devraient être évitées.
  • Si un enfant prend des antibiotiques pour une infection bactérienne (comme une otite) et qu'il fait de la fièvre, on peut aussi lui donner des médicaments pour la fièvre pour contrôler sa température dans les premières 48 heures, période de temps qu'il faut d'habitude pour que les antibiotiques commencent à agir.

    Autres moyens pour faire diminuer la fièvre :

    L'acétaminophéne et l'ibuproféne peuvent aider votre enfant à se sentir mieux et moins irritable lorsque vous lui donnez pour sa fièvre. Il faut d'habitude attendre entre 60 et 90 minutes pour que la fièvre diminue. Si les médicaments n'ont aucun effet, on peut donner un bain à l'éponge d'eau tiède à l'enfant. N'utilisez pas des compresses ou des bains d'eau froide et jamais non plus des compresses d'alcool. De plus, on ne devrait pas trop habiller les enfants ayant une fièvre.

    Quand appeler votre médecin à propos de la fièvre de votre enfant

    Les signes alarmants ou inquiétants qui requièrent une attention médicale incluent :

  • La fièvre est plus haute que 39,5°C (rectal) ou
  • L'enfant semble mal ou inhabituellement malade (ceci compte même s'il/elle n'a pas de fièvre) ou
  • La fièvre persiste (plus de 3 ou 4 jours) ou
  • L'enfant a moins de 6 mois d'âge
    Autre Maladies et conditions infantiles

    L'information fournit sur ce site a seulement comme but d'éduquer. Ce site vise ni à remplacer les conseils et le traitement offerts par le pédiatre de votre enfant, ni à être utilisé pour effectuer un diagnostic ou un traitement médical . Si vous pensez que votre enfant a une condition médicale, consultez toujours votre médecin.

    © Autograph Communications Inc., All rights reserved

Dr Paul logo
children's health & wellness
Home
Meet Dr. Paul
Tip of The Day
Ask A Question
Ask Dr. Paul Library
Dr. Paul Chats
Fact Sheets
Newborn Issues
Breastfeeding
Childhood Illnesses
and Conditions
Immunization Issues
Growth
and Development
Nutrition
Injury Prevention
Parenting & Behavioural Issues
The Asthma Corner
Adolescent Health
and Wellness
What's New
Awards
Lectures
Links
Comments & Contact
Legal



Childhood Illnesses and Conditions
: Fever in Children


What causes fever?

Fever is a symptom and not a diagnosis or a medical condition. The most common cause of a fever in children is an infection, mostly viral but in some cases a bacterial. One of the challenges in evaluating children with fever is trying to determine the cause, or at least to make sure it is not due a bacterial infection. This distinction is important, as viral infections do not need antibiotic treatment, but bacterial infections usually do. More rarely there are other, so called "non infectious" causes of fever, but in this circumstance, the fever persists for prolonged periods of time(weeks or even months) rather than just for a short period coincident with a current infection.

Fever is part of the overall picture

In general, the younger the child, the sicker looking the child and/or the longer the fever persists, the higher the chance of a bacterial infection. Also as important as the degree of fever is how a febrile child generally looks. A sick looking child with a low fever may be more ill than a very well, active child with a higher fever.

Taking a child's temperature

There are 3 ways to take a child's temperature:

  • Rectal:
    this is the most exact reading and is recommended for children less than 5 years of age
  • Oral(by mouth
    ): recommended for children older than 5 years of age
  • Axillary(armpit)
    : this is the least precise way to measure the temperature

    What is the normal body temperature?

    The average (normal) body temperature is usually 98.6 F (37C), rectally. However there are ranges of normal temperatures depending on how the temperature is measured:

    The normal temperature range when measured rectally is: 36.6 - 38 (C), or 97.9 - 100.4 (F)

    The normal temperature range when taken by mouth is: 35.5 to 37.5 (C), or 95.9 - 99.5 (F)

    The normal temperature range when taken from the armpit is: 34.7 to 37.3 (C), or 94.5 - 99.1 (F)


    What body temperature is considered to be fever?

    A child is considered to have a fever if:

    The rectal temperature is
    greater than 38 (C) or 100.4 (F),or

    The oral( by mouth) temperature is
    greater than 37.8 (C ) or 100 (F),or

    The armpit temperature is
    greater than 37.2 (C) or 99 (F)

    About fever medications:

    Today, there are 2 commonly used anti-pyretic or anti-fever medications:

    1. Acetaminophen(Tylenol, Tempra or Panadol) is a medication that has a long and favorable track record and is considered to be appropriate for use in children for fever and/or pain control.Available in liquid, drop or pill form, acetaminophen is given every four to six hours, as needed. Acetaminophen is also available in suppository form which can be helpful when a child needs to take fever medication but is throwing up, with a "gastro" or stomach flu, for example. Although acetaminophen is considered safe when used as recommended, taking it regularly, for more that a week at a time can be dangerous. Over dosage of acetaminophen can result in liver damage. So it is important to follow the dosage based on a child's age or weight and not to give it regularly for more than 4 or 5 days

    2. Ibuprofen(Advil, Motrin) is a newer fever medication which has not been around as long as acetaminophen. Most experts agree that ibuprofen is a relatively safe and very effective medication, but still recommend acetaminophen as a first line fever medication given its longer track record.
    Here are some general guidelines for using fever medications in children:

  • Aspirin(acetylsalicylic acid) should never be used in children
  • Overdosing by accidental ingestion of these fever medications can be very serious. These medications, as all others, should be stored well out of the reach of children.
  • Acetaminophen and ibuprofen are available in combined preparations with decongestants or cough medicines. These combination forms should be avoided.
  • If a child is on antibiotics for a bacterial infection( an ear infection) and has fever, then fever medication can be given as well for temperature control during the first 48 hours which is the time usually needed for to antibiotics to start working.

    Other measures to help lower the fever:

    Lowering the temperature with Acetaminophen or Ibuprofen can help your child feel better and be less irritable. It usually takes up to 60-90 minutes for the fever to go down. If fever medication does not bring the temperature down, the child could be given a luke-warm sponge bath. Do not use cool or cold compresses or baths and never use alcohol sponging. Also children with fever should not be overdressed.

    When to call your doctor about your child's fever

    Worrisome or alarm signs needing immediate medical attention include:

  • the fever is higher than 39.5 C(103F)rectal or
  • the child appears unwell or unusually ill(this applies even when there is no fever) or
  • persistent fever(more than 3-4 days) or
  • the child is less than 6 months of age
    Other Childhood Illnesses and Conditions

    The information provided in this site is designed to be an educational aid only. It is not intended to replace the advice and care of your child's physician, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. If you suspect that your child has a medical condition, always consult a physician.

    © Autograph Communications Inc., All rights reserved